Even though it no longer carries trains across it, the good folk of
Glenluce are still proud of their viaduct. After all, it's an imposing landmark which greets visitors to this wonderful
community at the southern end of the village.
The viaduct itself spans the Water of Luce and a main road which
passes in a sweeping curve beneath its imposing arches.
It comprises eight arches, each with a span of 42 feet
and stands over 47 feet above the road. This viaduct was opened in 1861 by the Portpatrick and Wigtownshire Railway and, until
the infamous axe of Dr Beeching fell in 1965, it carried trains - in particular, the nightly Irish Mail service - on
this once-important route between London and Stranraer.
Challoch Junction lies just a few miles to the West where
the line from Dumfries joined the line from Ayr which is still operational and the last remaining railway in Wigtownshire.
This line still boasts many original features such as semaphore signals and is the last part of the national rail network
to still use block token working between Barrhill and Stranraer.